2018-2020 Theme - "Eta Phi Beta Sorority Incorporated: Making a Difference in a Changing Society"

Eta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc., a non-profit business and professional women’s organization, founded in 1942 by eleven women who attended Lewis Business College in Detroit, Michigan.  The vision of these eleven visionary Founders was to promote higher scholastic standards, personal growth, career awareness, and to provide opportunities for community service.  Eta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. was incorporated in 1943.

The eleven Founders were Ivy Burt Banks, Earline Carter, Katherine Douglas, Mae Edwards Curry, Merry Green Hubbard, Ethel Madison, Ann Porter, Lena Reed, Mattie Rankin, Atheline Shelton Graham, and Dorothy Sylvers Brown.

The purpose of Eta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. is to promote and develop closer fellowship between business and professional women and to work for their welfare; to obtain for women the opportunity for the highest standards in all business fields; to aid high school graduates by awarding scholarships to further their education in business and professional fields; and to contribute financially to local and national charities and to promote and assist in programs designated for improving the well-being of developmentally disabled citizens.

For over 75 years, Eta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. has provided services to improve the quality of life of individuals in many communities throughout the United States and the Virgin Islands.  All programs and projects are consistent with our motto, “Not For Ourselves, But For Others”.

Eta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. is also an affiliate organization of the National Council of Negro Women (NCNW).  Eta Phi Beta Sorority supports the NCNW through its involvement at the National level and through the community-based sections. The National President of Eta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. is a member of the NCNW Board of Directors.